Race Results

I ran my 10k with some friends and it was super fun. For most of the race we just talked as we jogged at a nice pace. Being in Austin, there were some considerable hills on the course. On the hill that the creators deemed most demanding, were two mats, which had technology that allowed them to time us using the chip in our race bib. I gave my all on that hill and when  I reached the top of the hill that I sprinted up, I felt as if I was on top of the world. I got up the hill in about 30 seconds. Out of my age group of 13-15 year old girls, I got 76th place out of the 1000 contestants in my age group.

My favorite part of the race was when we ran past the lake. Seeing the water was amazing. I loved the way that the water sparkled and moved gently with the light wind. It was serene in a vast crowd of running and panting people.

My least favorite part of the race was the last mile. I had to tie my shoe and my leg was shaking; I had to force myself to run back to my friends; I hadn’t really wanted to walk until then.  I still had to keep going when I reached them no matter how exhausted I was. When I was halfway through the last bridge, I started to sprint. I kept on going until I crossed the finish line, drained.

I stumbled to the water station and grabbed a water. Then I found my mom, and I told her my race time: 1 hour and 5 minutes. I was so I happy and still so tired. I was so proud of myself.

 

Leave a Reply

